How can I stop worrying and learn to love Livia?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
waxnyc

#1: Post by waxnyc »

A lot of the HX tips here seem to apply to E61 machines. I'm a relative newbie (six months into the obsession) and getting relatively good results with my Livia semi-auto. I've tried a lot of the HX flushing/cooling techniques on this site, but still getting a little sourness in the shots.

I'm using a Gaggia MDF grinder and have no problem hitting 20-25 second doubles. I primarily use illy whole bean and go through cans about once a week, so the coffee is relatively fresh. I've got a good quality tamper and have been practicing various distribution techniques.

But I can't seem to hit a "god" shot. The crema always seems a bit blond. Can't seem to ever get any real tiger striping going.

Do the same flushing techniques for E61 machines apply to Livia (which is an HX, but not E61). Without a flush, the water temp is definitely too high. Takes a good 6 oz. to stop the dance, then I typically pour out an additional couple of ounces. Grind, dose, distribute, tamp -- all under a minute -- then pull the shot, but they are consistently sour. Not terrible, mind you, and better than most of the junk you can get in NYC, but never a god shot.

I've been to countless illy coffee bars in Italy and quaffed cup after cup of unbelievable brew. I know the coffee is capable of greatness (at least on commercial-grade machines).

Any quick tips on the first things to try to get a great shot out of Livia?

HB
Admin

#2: Post by HB »

waxnyc wrote:I primarily use illy whole bean and go through cans about once a week, so the coffee is relatively fresh... The crema always seems a bit blond. Can't seem to ever get any real tiger striping going.