Help with using light/medium roasts with Baratza Preciso & Rancilio Silvia

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
jlongster

#1: Post by jlongster »

I've been using a Baratza Preciso and Rancilio Silvia for a few years now. Up until now I've been using roasts on the darker side - not extremely oily but definitely has some oil on it. It took a while but I got pretty good at pulling shots with those roasts.

For a long time I thought roasts needed to be a little darker for espresso because the oil helps pull the shots properly. We just moved to a new city and many of the local roasters only provide light-medium roasts coffee, even in their espresso blends. They prefer it and say it should be fine and will produce a better tasting shot.

I did some research and other people are able to use light - medium roasts with this setup. However, I can't seem to get it to work at all. I think the main problem is my grinder - it can't grind it fine enough. I've set it to the finest setting possible, and even replaced the adjustment ring and plastic burr holder in my Preciso (it's been a couple years) and fully cleaned it (took it all apart, cleaned, and then ran some cleaning tablets through it).

When I pull the shot, within 5 seconds water is pouring through the portafilter and I have to turn it off within 10-15 seconds. After some adjusting (amount of coffee, tamping, etc) I was able to get a proper puck that is wet, but it still just isn't working. It must be a grind size problem. Why isn't my Preciso able to handle it? Is there any "shims" I can use to shrink the space between the burrs to get finer grinds?

What I've done: 1. fill the basket up with coffee to the top (ground at size 1) and use my finger to even it out. 2. tamp with slightly-than-softer pressure, not too hard, goes down about until the line in the basket 3. Install it and turn the machine on. I have a PID that does pre-infusion as well.