Help with pulling decaf espresso shots

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
hundcafe

#1: Post by hundcafe »

Hi - I'm fairly new to espresso but have done lots of reading on here and elsewhere - and also watched a fair number of videos (particularly from Clive, where I bought my machine from). I feel like I have the basics - I'm sure I have plenty of room to grow, but I can get shots to pull within the basic parameters I've seen (1:1.5 - 1:2 ratios in 20-30 seconds, depending on the bean).

I'm willing to try regular beans to learn / troubleshoot, but I can't drink caffeine regularly so would like to figure out how to pull good decaf shots. I've had good decaf espresso (usually cortados) - however I've been practicing with straight espresso. I know the flavor will be more intense, but I figure if the basic shot isn't good, a little milk isn't going to fix it. I feel like no matter what I do, I'm not quite getting closer - is it me - the beans - or both?

My journey so far:
1) Verve Sermon (regular) - dialed it in around ~5 on my grinder - got one pretty good shot. Balanced, with a bit of sweetness before I ran out.
2) Local roaster (decaf, medium roast, unsure what process) - I learned my lesson, but I was playing with too many variables and not taking notes. The vast majority of these ended up too sour and bright - lots of lemony acid and very intense. I admit I went through about ~24 oz. of this and couldn't figure it out. None of the shots tasted "smooth" - they all seemed messy to my palate.
3) Portola decaf (Swiss water process decaf) - I went from 5 down to 4 on this - settled around ~4.25 and got an OK shot - was able to finally taste some better notes. Brewed at 1:2 (just under the roaster's recommendation of 20 g -> 45 g) - but still felt the bitter notes were overpowering. But some of these shots were finally smoother.