Help - Single Espresso vs Double Espresso

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
leonelbego

#1: Post by leonelbego »

Hi All,

I would kindly appreciate if someone could help me with my issue right now! Ok, first of all is important to know that I am a beginner and only do coffees for me at home and when I have friends around. My equipment is: Profitec Pro 300 (dual boiler) and the Eureka Mignon Specialita grinder. I am very happy with the coffee machine and the grinder.

To keep my question simple and for the purpose of my question lets keep it with a Ratio of 2:1 when pulling out shots, this will make it easier for me to understand. I know there are lots of different ratio types and is all very subjective and personal taste, but for the debate on my question, I would like to keep it at 2:1.

- for a single espresso: 12 grams dose in a 7 grams single spout portafilter with 24 grams output in 26 seconds.
- for a double espresso: 18 grams dose in a 14 grams double spout portafilter with 36 grams output in 26 seconds.

My issue/question is the following: Because 95% of the time I make coffee only for me at home, I do use the single spout portafilter and I get the very nice result as mentioned above. all good for now, but when I sometimes want to make a double shot of espresso and I use the double spout portafilter I get the 36 grams output at around 18 seconds... waaaaaay faster than the single spout and this is killing me because it shouldn't be this way. Literally I would do right now a single shot with the single spout and coffee would come out perfectly, then the next shot I want a double shot and use the double spout I would get a much faster output... I simply don't get it!