Help: Nothing fixes my super sour espresso

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Tyme

#1: Post by Tyme »

Long post alert!

Nothing I do fixes my shots being super sour. I'm not a total beginner and I know about the variables that should fix sourness: grind finer, higher temp, less coffee in, more coffee out, better puck prep, etc. But nothing I've tried gets me anything except a very sour shot. At this point I'm not looking to make great espresso, just something decent that isn't super acidic. Even something bitter and stale made from old coffee beans would be progress. I've read a lot of posts about sourness here, and on CoffeeForums and Reddit, but the majority are from beginners and simple advice like "grind finer" or "use different beans" is a common answer. I would really appreciate some more specific or expert help to figure out what I'm missing here, or hear if someone has experienced the same thing and found a fix. I don't know if the main problem is equipment-related (Gaggia Classic Pro) or skill-related.

Here are the details about my shots and the variables that should have fixed the sourness:

Equipment
Gaggia Classic Pro with OPV modded to 9 bar, Compak K6 grinder modded for single dosing (very clumpy), original Gaggia basket, bottomless portafilter, tamp or distribution tool. I'm considering getting a better basket just to rule out that variable, but would like it if someone could confirm if an improved basket might fix severe sourness or just make "better" espresso.

Experimental method