Help! Great espresso yesterday, today it's bitter. Why?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Shuka

#1: Post by Shuka »

Please help me! I've been cappuccino-ing for about 7 years... variety of machines... one cap a day... now I'm on a QM Andrea Premium with Eric's thermometer and a Eureka Soecialty 75. I'm using a mix of spring and filtered water. I buy 5 lbs of coffee and freeze small ball jars with about a weeks worth of beans each. Usually 4-5 days post roast before freezing. Light wdt, leveler, light tamp. Bottomless IMS with very little headroom (18g basket).

So my problem: I've been using Nossa Familia Camila beans lately, a medium-dark roast that I haven't loved... until yesterday. I had just gotten back from a week and a half work trip, and left beans in the hopper for my wife (a mocha-lover who doesn't care about the coffee). 20.5 gram dose... 201° (best I can tell)... 25 grams out... fantastic! Good enough that I think it could have been served at Blue Bottle- intense flavor, mellow, caramel, malt. Dee-licious in my book. I just want that again! (And again..)

But today... nothing like yesterday. More bitter, none of that "forward flavor). Unfortunately... this was the last 30 grams of my last 5lb purchase, so I can't keep testing with "known beans".

So what changed? I thought- maybe the resting of the coffee? But a one-day change? Doesn't seem likely. So what am I missing, and how do I get that flavor consistently?

Thanks- I'm desperate!
Shuka
Good morning, Sunshine!

FlutterVeiss

#2: Post by FlutterVeiss »

Well of course there could be any number of things about routine that were slightly different that could affect it, but it sounds like you have a fairly regular routine so, tabling that, I do actually have a thought.