Help critique my shot please!

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Endodude

#1: Post by Endodude »

Hey all, fairly new to the espresso game and would really appreciate you're feedback. Using a breville barista express and smart grinder pro. Have a calibrated spring tamper and using redbird espresso 10 days post roast. This was a 16.5g shot at grind setting 18. The shot was drinkable but getting slight bitterness and sourness which is throwing me off - not really any sweetness. It is programmed to +2 degrees from standard on the PID on this machine.
I think my distribution needs work. I fill the basket first and try to do the stockfleth method then ramp. I'm not great at it! The smart grinder pro seems to also be very clumpy which doesn't help.
Thanks

RockyIII
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by RockyIII »

I'm no expert, but with 16.5 grams of coffee I would weigh the output and aim for 33 grams. I think you might want to try a bit finer grind too.

Rocky

Advertisement
Endodude (original poster)

#3: Post by Endodude (original poster) »

Finer seems to bring out more bitterness and dryness to the taste. I pulled another shot and got 32g in 30 seconds from 16.5g in. The shot is a little on the bright side. Not sure where to go from here because flow rate seems perfect. Should I be increasing or decreasing temperature or stopping the shot quicker?

RedMan

#4: Post by RedMan »

Flow-rate seems too fast in the video. From the first drops in the cup until you finish the shot is only about 20 seconds. Like Rocky I think your grind should be tighter. But of course, your taste and how you like the shots is what matters most.