Help! Can't produce a decent espresso -seems to always get overextracted (bitter!)

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Del_Nonno

#1: Post by Del_Nonno »

Greetings from Stockholm, Sweden.
I hope my post finds you all well.
I'm a rookie home Espresso brewer dreaming of a nice home Espresso.
My ideal Espresso is Italian/Napolitan and as such I'm grateful for tips following Italian standards, starting with 14g dosage.

I'm sporting the following setup:

Espresso machine (inherited from my father in law)
Gaggia Classic ("real" 2004 Classic version). This "oldie" has been set to 10BAR static (9 dynamically) thoroughly cleaned and upgraded with:
- new Gaggia Classic Stainless Steel Shower Holding Plate
- IMS Nanotech Gaggia Classic Shower Screen
- Rancilio V1 Steam Wand
- Mr Shades PID kit (set to 93 degrees Celsius)

Grinder
Eureka Mignon Specialita

Portafilter
Gaggia Naked Portafilter
with
Baristapro 15g (also have 20G) Nanotech Precision Portafilter Basket

Leveler/Tamper
Asso Coffee The Jack Leveler
(Bezzerra Tamper)

Acaia Lunar

My process in short:
I warm up the Gaggia with empty portafilter in and typically flush it before 1st use.
I Single Dose, weighting up 14 grams of espresso beans before grinding.
My ultimate end goal is to avoid tamping entirely and rather follow "Wholelatteloves" example using Asso Coffee The Jack Leveler only if possible.
Still require a light tamp.
While brewing I time the brew until measured target ratio from 1st drip (measured on the Acaia Lunar).
(target interval 25-30seconds)

My challenges:

As you can see by my upgrades I'm doing what I can to keep things constant.
Acaia Lunar, PID and Asso Leveler seem to keep me hopefully somewhat constant.

I struggle immensely to dial in the grinder size.
When I hit the extraction time target interval (1:2-1:3 ratio in 25-30s on 14grams dosage) I still get a very bitter over extracted espresso.