Guidance on Ceado e37SD and Grind Setting

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Doppio1

#1: Post by Doppio1 »

Greetings,

I am new to this Ceado grinder and the forum. I am using it with a Profitec Drive.

I am using active preinfusion for 4 seconds and passive preinfusion for 6 seconds before timing the shot for around 25 seconds.

I am grinding Cliff Hanger Kicking Horse (a medium/medium dark roast) for a doppio at 18 grams.

What settings are you folks using for similar espresso beans?

Thanks in advance!

From PA

Mat-O-Matic
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by Mat-O-Matic »

The nature of your question--help dialing in a specific blend--may be more suited to the Tips & Techniques forum.

A quick search suggests your blend is medium dark enough to have a shiny/oily bean surface. In that case, it's better to skip preinfusion, or perhaps use 2-3 seconds of low pressure (1.8 - 2bar) before beginning the brew cycle. A slightly coarser ground is also a good place to start with a darker bean like this. 20-23 seconds total brew time (21-25 if using preinfusion) is the indicator that lets you know your grind is coarser. Finer grinds would result in a longer brew time.

Lastly, the brew ratio will greatly impact the taste of your shot. Darker blends tend to like a tighter ratio. If you put 16g in your basket and get 25.6g beverage out, that's a 1:1.6 ratio, which is an OK place to start, but is also a shot in the dark.

From there, refine per Espresso 101, grind adjustment by taste.
LMWDP #716: Spring comes, and the grass grows by itself.

mrgnomer

#3: Post by mrgnomer »