Getting a good shot from Silvia?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks.
dmorgen

#1: Post by dmorgen »

I've been homeroasting for about 6 months, and have owned a Rancilio Silvia & a Rocky for about 4-5 months. I'm still having problems pulling a decent espresso shot!

A few weeks ago, I read the article here "Dialing in a new espresso machine, a step by step guide", and have found it to be very helpful. By the end of my first "dialing" session I was pretty close (I thought). I was using Sweet Maria's Donkey Decaf Blend, which I had roasted. I was using a naked portafilter with triple basket, which I had purchased from Chris Coffee. I was tamping at 30 lbs according to a bathroom scale ... today I realized the 30 included the 4 lbs the scale indicated the PF weighed, so was really a 26 lb. tamp.

I temperature surfed ... turn on the hot water until the heater light comes on. Start the pull when the heater light goes off.

My last attempt had Rocky set to 8, and 20g of coffee. Everything looked good, except the pull was slightly fast. It had my best crema yet, but still not a lot. The taste was my best yet, but slightly sour.

Today was my second session. I was using Intelligentsia Decaf Black Cat Blend, which was roasted 7 days ago (by Intelligentsia). They say they roast at Full City, but this looked, smelled & possibly tasted like a much darker roast (as did their El Diablo blend I bought at the same time, but tried after about 3-4 days from roasting ... it tasted burnt to me). I used a real 30 lb tamp. My final attempt had Rocky set to 7, and 20g of coffee. The pull was just the tiniest bit fast. But it looked very good ... no blonding, no channeling. I stopped it at about 3 oz., which took about 20 seconds. It looked ok, although not much crema. But it tasted bitter.

So I ran an experiment ... I used the same parameters, but swapped cups each 5 seconds or so, so I could taste the espresso at each stage. I let it go 25 seconds: