Gassy crema dissipates quickly

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Deebo

#1: Post by Deebo »

So I've been making espresso at home for a few years now, and about a year ago I upgraded to the prosumer level. I can make awesome shots, but there is something I've been dealing with for awhile that I am taking on again in an attempt to solve. I have researched this issue extensively and not really been able to find any true insight. The issue is that the crema I produce is extremely gassy and tends to dissipate quickly. It doesn't seem to change no matter how old the beans are (3 days post-roast all the way out to a month). If I pull a shot in a volume glass and stop it at 60 ml, the crema will dissipate and leave me with something like 30 oz, weight about 20 g in the cup (from a 20 g dose). If i tried to pull it out to weight 40 or 50 grams in the volume glass, it would overflow with crema.

I am at altitude (Denver), but I visit shops here all the time that pull perfect looking shots. I do freeze my beans, but I have the same issue whether I do or not.

It's funny, if I pull a long black by eye it tastes amazing, but if I get out the volume glass and scale and really try to get everything exact is where I'm having all the issues. Also, blend doesn't seem to be an issue as I change frequently.

Set up:
Rocket Mozzafiato type V
Baratza Sette 270

Thanks.
Think it, but don't overthink it...

foreseeablebananas

#2: Post by foreseeablebananas »

20g in and 40g out is a pretty standard ratio in specialty coffee these days. Why does crema matter if your shots taste all right? Just something to think about.

Advertisement
Jake_G
Team HB

#3: Post by Jake_G »