Frustrated Newbie - Espresso is either too sour or too bitter

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks.
Kaanemec

#1: Post by Kaanemec »

Hi All,

I am a newbie home espresso maker. I watched and read quite a lot before getting into this and I can verify that theory and practice are quite different and I am living that reality since a couple of weeks :)

I am using Breville 920XL (Dual Boiler) machine coupled with Breville Smart Grinder Pro.

Let me state my problem in a short sentence: I cannot get a well balanced shot no matter what I've tried.

Beans: I am using medium roasted beans around 2-2.5 weeks old bought from a local roastery/coffee shop. I tried 3 different blends with no luck of reproducing similar taste to what I have been tasting in the coffee shop.

Brew Time: This is a problem, I am using 18-20gr of coffee and trying to get 38-40gr of espresso (1:2 ratio) but the brew time is barely around 20-21 secs. I tried going finer with the grind but it gets too bitter. The grind level where I reach 25secs brewing time is painfully bitter to drink. For the shots that are "drinkable" it takes 20-21secs to reach 1:2 ratio. The thing is I am able to reach the peak pressure of 9.5-10 bars for these shots (see the slow creamy honey looking flow) at the beginning. But in 4-5 secs after the first drip, the flow gets quite fast and pressure goes down to 7 bars.

PreInfusion: I played with preinfusion time (changing the PI pressure, getting rid of it altogether etc.) with no luck of getting the right timeframe of 25-30secs whithout getting too bitter coffee.

Coffee Amount: I tried changing the coffee amount from 16-20grams with different parameters above with no luck.