Fine tuning your espresso on a shoe string budget.

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
noob2024

#1: Post by noob2024 »

Hi,

I'm new to this. Bought a Francis x3, replaced the ulka pump. Had pretty awful shots with different espresso beans. Now, I'm finally getting some decent tasting shots. So I want to share some of my experiences with the community.

First thing I did was fix the lack of water flow. Replaced the Ulka pump. During this process, I cleaned the pipes and tubes, and removed tons of descaled residue in the boiler. It was tons of crud, and nasty.

Checked the temperature on the boiler, and the heating element was working fine. I had the top off and tested it with a laster thermostat. For Steam and for regular brew, it was hitting the temperature of 195-200F and 225 respectively.

One of the only concerns I had was the overall flow rate. Not sure if my opv valve needs to be replaced, the grind size, or the grouphead is clogged.

My first grinds used was Bustelo pre-grind. I love cuban coffee, colada, and try to make it. It was tasty, but not an espresso shot. it was too fast, and lacked any extraction or crema. It was a strong coffee, with decent flavor, but not an espresso. Extraction time, 8-12 sec.

Second grind, was fresh roasted beans all grounded at the local shop. I asked for their espresso grind, but the grind itself for my machine was too fine. The overall extraction time probably took close to a minute for half a shot, instead of a double. lol

So now I was troubleshooting this, and realized perhaps I need to gauge if I am getting enough pressure during extraction.

So I purchased a portafilter pressure gauge, which is currently enroute with my opv valve replacement. It is being shipped from Ireland to here, US.

I tried different dosage, and helped some, but still not ideal. My portafilter is 57mm suggested dosage is 14g for double. Still an issue.