Extremely sour shots (Presso + Porlex)

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Iluvatar

#1: Post by Iluvatar »

Hi,

I'm quite new to espresso making and only got my first machine (the Presso) about 3 months ago. I've read through many articles on this site and also done some research on the net about making espresso, and I found on many places that it was possible (but not easy) to get good shots with the presso. So when I got mine, I boiled some water, got some Preground Illy coffee and poured.. something you can't call an espresso. So i figured that I should probably get a grinder and freshly roasted beans. I decided to get the Porlex hand grinder and some "very forgiving" south american beans ( roasted 3 days before I got them). From the moment I got those I experimented a lot, and even though I managed to get some crema on my espresso, they tasted disgustingly sour. So I banned espresso making to sunday afternoon, where I would pull some 5-6 shots always trying new things, and always giving up frustrated. The first shots with Illy coffee, actually tasted better than with the freshly ground beans :(

Before buying a Bialetti and giving up on espresso, I thought Id ask you guys here for help.
So this afternoon I took my presso out, I put it in a sauce pan with some water and heated it up (must have been at least 90°C). Then i ground some coffee, I overfilled the Presso chamber with boiling water and pulled a shot, that actually looked nice. It had nice crema, not very thick, but long lasting. The first sip was a bit sour but drinkable, however the rest of it I had to spit out. It was just so acid. Ive never stopped the time (when do you actually start the watch?) but the shot is out rather quickly, i guess in about 10sec from the moment i start pulling the levers.