Extraction Too Fast - Grounds Too Coarse?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Soundbear12

#1: Post by Soundbear12 »

Hi all,

I just got a used Vario grinder and Gaggia Classic Pro with a 9 bar spring and am having a ton of trouble getting extractions to last more than 12 seconds for an 18g dose. It came with a bottomless portafilter and the nanotech 18g basket. I'm new to espresso, but have calibrated the Vario to the 2Q recommended touch point and still at 1M it runs through in ~13 seconds. While there's some spray here and there, it seems mostly even across the basket, just extremely fast. It also blondes very quickly.

My initial thoughts were channeling since I had a poorly fitting tamper, but after getting a Rhinoware tamper the quick extraction is still happening. I evenly distribute the grounds by doing the side tapping method and feel as though I'm accurate in evaluating it as level and distributed enough to not cause the extremely quick extraction.

So my primary thought is the grounds are still too coarse. Are there any other variables I'm not thinking of?

Thanks!

TomC
Team HB

#2: Post by TomC »

Welcome to HB Addison!

How fresh is your coffee? And yes, grind finer.
Join us and support Artisan Roasting Software=https://artisan-scope.org/donate/

Soundbear12 (original poster)

#3: Post by Soundbear12 (original poster) »

Hi Tom, roast date 12/16 and I've kept it in the bag with the top folded over since then. I don't quite have a measuring stick for what fresh is in this case, so I might need some guidance if you think that could be the issue.

I'll keep trying finer!

Soundbear12 (original poster)

#4: Post by Soundbear12 (original poster) »