Espresso is too bitter!

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks.
gwolf

#1: Post by gwolf »

All,
Thanks in advance for any suggestions. I am new to the home brewed espresso world. I just received my Quick Mill Anita Evo and my baratza Vario grinder. So, I'm two days in and I haven't yet pulled a drinkable shot. The bitterness is off the charts. I've played with the grind size (from one to four, for those familiar with this particular grinder). I've tamped extra hard, and not nearly too hard. My water temp and hardness are proper. If anything, my flow times are mostly too short, though with grind size #1 the shot was very, very slow. In all cases, the result was undrinkable. I also bought new beans, from a local roaster, so I don't believe this is the issue either. I've scoured the internet/youtube, and mostly see suggestions about grind size and water temperature playing a role in bitterness. Am I missing something?

Please tell me I didn't by $2000 worth of doorstop materials!
Any help?
Greg

spromance

#2: Post by spromance »

gwolf wrote:Please tell me I didn't by $2000 worth of doorstop materials!
You didn't buy $2000 worth of doorstop materials.
gwolf wrote:I am new to the home brewed espresso world...The bitterness is off the charts...I also bought new beans, from a local roaster, so I don't believe this is the issue either.
Welcome. Two thoughts:

1) you're new to home brewed espresso...does that mean new to espresso generally as well? If so, that could easily be why. Any idea what weight ratios you are pulling your shots? Or are you pulling by volume?

2) Whether or not you are used to espresso generally...although it's good you're buying local (which hopefully means the roasts are fresh?), it easily could be the coffee itself. Have you had this same coffee pulled/served by this local roaster? Do you like how it tastes when they pull it?