ECM Synchronika Basic Flow Profiling

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
marugenji

#1: Post by marugenji »

Hi all,

I recently ordered an ecm synchronika with flow control (from WLL). This is going to be my first time with flow control and I was thinking that just to get to know the machine I would start by using it without flow control and just have the valve open to match the flow of the non-flow-control version. However, it doesn't seem like the machine will behave the same even if I do this since apparently a spring is also changed in the flow control version that affects preinfusion time.

So I was wondering what you all would recommend for the most basic flow profile to use while I get to know the machine. Maybe something with just a little preinfusion and then up to stock flow?

Any help would be appreciated. I am new to flow control and learning about it has been a bit daunting (although exciting too :-) ).

Thanks!

LittleCoffee

#2: Post by LittleCoffee »

Hi,
18 months Izzo duetto user here who started as complete beginner.

I cant answer your question directly but I can tell you that I'm still not getting to use the flow control I bought because I'm getting to grips with everything else - maybe I'm a very slow learner :D

I would however strongly urge you to keep the original pre infusion spring rather than the one that shuts it off. As a beginner you are making things unhelpfully complicated if you shut the pre infusion chamber off. My flow control kit didn't even come with a stiffer spring and I didn't realise at the time how much of a blessing that was.

PIXIllate
Supporter ♡

#3: Post by PIXIllate »