Double Dose/Tamp

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Peppersass
Supporter ❤

#1: Post by Peppersass »

As a newbie, I need to taste more shots pulled by experienced baristas. In my rural hometown, this simply isn't possible. So, while on the road this week I took the opportunity to locate and try a better cafe near where I'm staying in NJ. There were some posts on CoffeeGeeks about Americas Cup in Asbury Park, so I dropped in this morning. (I'm sitting there now.)

Had a very good double, much better than anything I've had at our home cafes, and am now sipping on a decent double latte. Microfoam has some large bubbles, but otherwise tasty. They roast their own blend here.

Anyhow, I watched the barista prepare the shot, and she did a double fill and tamp: she filled the PF, did a full-force tamp, filled the PF again, and did another full force tamp.

Is this a typical technique? Obviously it gets a big dose in the basket, but doesn't the dual-level tamping increase the chance of gaps and channeling in the puck?

Also of note, the barista didn't attempt any distribution other than filling the PF evenly from the doser. She also held the cup (a somewhat large cappa cup) up to the spout during the first half of the pour. Wasn't sure why this was necessary, unless she was worried about side spurting (but the PF had a double spout.) Another possibility is that the coffee cools off less with a shorter path to the cup.

The grinder and machine were both by Astoria. Machine was a dual group Sibilla.)

Advertisement
Peppersass (original poster)
Supporter ❤

#2: Post by Peppersass (original poster) »

Follow-up:

I spoke with the barista and she said she holds the cup close to the spout to avoid the stream splashing hard into the cup and thus disturbing the surface of the crema. She says it looks nicer that way. There appeared to be more distance between the PF and drop tray on the Sibilla than most home machines, so perhaps that explains it.