Donut Extractions on Profitec Pro 800 - Basket/Dose?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Tfili

#1: Post by Tfili »

What baskets and doses are using on your Pro 800?

I'm getting donut extractions on my Profitec Pro 800 about 90% of the time, and looking for ideas to help fix it. With it being most of the time and not all the time, I do think it has to do with my technique. I'm hoping to learn a couple things so if my technique and basket prep is the culprit, I can get more consistent. I have been making 3-4 double espresso's a day for about 5 years, so I'm hoping I can make good espresso more than 10% of the time.

- Profitec Pro 800 with a Monolith Flat with SSP.
- 58.5mm tamper, usually use 58.5mm metal dispersion disc.
- Temperature managed grouphead, tested with scace regularly.
- Light/Medium Roasts, 7-20 days post roast, various quality roasters.
- Grind into a catch cup, pour into hot basket and portafilter (pulled from machine), WDT, level with fingers or WDT tool, spin with level tool, tamp, place metal disc, lock in portafilter.
- Usually use 20g VST, down dosed as low as 13g, spent a lot of time at 14g and 15g, now back around 17/18g.
- Similar results using stock double and triple baskets.
- Happens with or without the metal dispersion disc. Not using the disc makes a lot more mess and gives some relatively deep divots on top of puck. I know this takes up some of my limited headspace on the pro 800.

The espresso taste is rarely smooth or clean. It does taste like a good portion was over extracted (the edges from the donut).

Appreciate any answers on my first question and ideas I could try.

Advertisement
cafeIKE

#2: Post by cafeIKE »

Does the centre never fill or does the flow start as a ring and fill in a second or so?

How much headspace do you have? Does the puck hit the screen on lock-in? If so, reduce dose in 0.25g increments and grind a partial tick finer

Photos?

Tfili (original poster)