Distribution Tool Reduces TDS / Extraction?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
jyl

#1: Post by jyl »

I was surprised by this article.

http://socraticcoffee.com/2016/12/exami ... xtraction/

Why would a distribution tool reduce TDS? Any thoughts?

I use a similar tool ($20 knockoff) and noticed more consistent shots, though nothing mind blowing.
John, Portland OR
Vintage bicycles, Porsche/VW, cooking, old houses.

coffeemmichael

#2: Post by coffeemmichael »

less channeling

jyl (original poster)

#3: Post by jyl (original poster) »

I thought that more channeling would decrease extraction, because the water does not have to pass through coffee. Thus I thought less channeling should increase extraction.
John, Portland OR
Vintage bicycles, Porsche/VW, cooking, old houses.

Atbat82

#4: Post by Atbat82 »

I've been using a distribution tool for a few months (since I got my Monolith with it's accompany distro tool). I haven't noticed much of a difference other than "bad" shots (just total gushers with obvious channeling) which I got occassionally, no longer seem to happen. I'm struggling to concoct an explanation for how OCD would reduce TDS...
LMWDP #655

kravmaga

#5: Post by kravmaga »

I've been using a $20 knockoff, too, for about a month. After experimenting with it I've found that adjusting it so that it compresses the coffee a bit--18 grams in an 18 gram VST--it has improved consistency a lot. WDT, settle the grounds with a couple downward taps, use the distribution tool, don't bother tamping.

In fact the only noticeable variable I've been subjected to is adjusting the grind as the beans age.

baldheadracing
Team HB

#6: Post by baldheadracing »

jyl wrote:I was surprised by this article.

http://socraticcoffee.com/2016/12/exami ... xtraction/

Why would a distribution tool reduce TDS? Any thoughts?

I use a similar tool ($20 knockoff) and noticed more consistent shots, though nothing mind blowing.