Dark roast coffee requiring much finer grind than medium roast?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
alexanders5700

#1: Post by alexanders5700 »

Hi all, long time lurker,

I've looked over this forum, and others, and have not found much info on my problem.

Problem/Observation:
(newbie here, 4 weeks in to the hobby. Profitec Pro 700 (great used deal), Niche Zero, VST 18g basket, Jack leveler)

I've been so far getting roasted beans from a local cafe (that also sells/ships online), medium roast (no oils on beans).
Going well, got it dialed in to 18g in, 36 out, 200F, 28 seconds.
Tried 3 different Medium roasts, got them all dialed in to the same as above. Grinder always in the 16/18 range on my NZ.

For fun, I wanted to try a dark roast, as I want something that cuts through latte milk, and strong enough to water down for Americano.

I got the Starbucks Verona (Dark roast) (best before indicates 5 months in the future).

So the beans are much much darker, bigger, less dense, oily sheen (as expected).

Ok, so step one, reduce grind setting on NZ from the 16/18 that it's been for Medium roasts, down to 20. Reduce temp to 198F.
18g into NZ, grind, then try to get into the VST 18g basket. IMPOSSIBLE. Way way too much. Dark roast is too fluffy. Huge mound. Falls off VST basket when I take the NZ cup out of the basket. Lots of static (never seen that with the Medium roasts).
I lose .7/.8g to the sink. WDT, Jack leveler. Pull shot.
Shot time: 9 seconds (yes 9 !!!)

Damn. OK, put grind back to 17/18.
Shot time: 10 seconds

OK... put grind to 14.
Shot time: 10 seconds

OK again.. put grind to 10
Shot time: 10 seconds. What the hell

Finally last shot before I have to go to work, out of desperation, put grind at 7/8.
Shot time: 22 seconds (at least it's making an impact)

I just don't understand. Literally the day before, 24 hours, I had medium roast at grind setting 17/18, 18g, at 28 seconds.