Creaming the coffee's milk

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
uziel

#1: Post by uziel »

Hello, Sorry I am novice. My 1% milk does not froth well in steamer so I bought 25% cream from market. Now I am trying to experiment, if in 100ml 1% milk say if I add 20gm 25%cream that I bought then will it froth well in the steamer to make cappuccino. I basically want all the coffee to be full of froth. :shock:

TomC
Team HB

#2: Post by TomC »

I'm no expert in milk chemistry, but I've read that nonfat milk holds a more stable foam and is easier to make microfoam than 2% or even whole milk, so the problem doesn't lie with your milk choice.
Join us and support Artisan Roasting Software=https://artisan-scope.org/donate/

Advertisement
bettysnephew

#3: Post by bettysnephew »

I am on a keto diet and use heavy whipping cream instead of milk. It is very difficult to create microfoam in it for lattes. when my daughter comes by for a latte or flat white I get a bit of skim milk from a local dairy. It makes fabulous microfoam for her drinks.
Suffering from EAS (Espresso Acquisition Syndrome)
LMWDP #586

Nunas
Supporter ♡

#4: Post by Nunas »

Uziel, with practice one can foam nearly any milk from skim to whipping cream. As mentioned by another, the lower the butterfat the more stable the foam seems to be. I used to use 1% & 2% and had no trouble foaming (I now use whole milk). Foaming cream is harder to accomplish.

I suggest the problem is probably not with the %BF in the milk but with the technique. There are articles on this web site and many posts on how to foam milk. One caveat is that certain brands of milk simply do not foam well. I ran into this when we lived in Indonesia and again in NZ. In both places changing brands made a big difference. Also, milk has seasonal differences that can affect the foam.