Color and shot timing

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Greg_R

#1: Post by Greg_R »

Hi all,
I'm new to making espresso and am working on dialing in my equipment and learning the process. My current recipe is 17g in, 33g out in 29sec. I'm able to repeat that +/- 4g with the same timing. The taste is drinkable but not great (a touch sour). Beans are WLL Crema Wave and I'm using a bottomless portafilter double basket.

One thing I noticed is that the first drips are happening in 2-3 seconds and the color is almost immediately blonde. Does this color *always* point to a too-coarse grind, or does it vary by bean? When I try to make the grind finer (1 tick mark on Ceado e37s), I'm getting extraction times of 17-18sec. An 18g dose seemed to be hitting the screen (not tamping hard enough?).

Any thoughts on how I should proceed with adjustments (to recipe or technique)?

Jeff
Team HB

#2: Post by Jeff »

Usually, since everything is, or at least should be, considered for the case in hand as well as if it is merely myth, even with light-roast beans, the first drops I see are dark brown to very dark brown somewhere.

"A touch sour" along with the description of light extraction and rapid blonding suggests to me under-extraction.

Grinding finer but getting shorter extraction times gives some other hints. My guess is that you're "channeling". The water is blowing through weak points in the puck and "ignoring" most of it on the way. There are often two causes of this, uneven puck prep and grinding so fine that you're past the "normal" range.

I'm guessing your prep could use a little tune-up. How are you doing it so far?

Also, which machine do you have? 17 g is a typical dose for most machines with 58 mm baskets, but there are a many out there with different size baskets as well as a handful that have more or less "headspace" than typical.

BaristaBoy E61

#3: Post by BaristaBoy E61 »