Channeling Issues

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
ZJ

#1: Post by ZJ »

Hello everyone! I am new to at-home espresso and am struggling to dial in my first bag of espresso (tend to be on the bitter side). One thing I keep noticing is channeling on the edges of my puck, which may cause certain areas to over-extract, contributing to the bitter taste. I cannot seem to overcome this channeling issue.

My puck prep involves grinding right into a 20g IMS precision portafilter basket, use a WDT tool to distribute (5 needles) and break up clumbs, although I still see small clumps after this step is complete. I then use a Nomcore distribution tool and then a Nomcore tamp. This is a classic case of having all the equipment, with bad execution haha. I imagine this is normal for beginners.

Image 9569 - Less channeling, but still some on the outer edges. This grind size was at the 1 setting on my grinder. 5 seconds to first drip. 31 seconds to 1:2 ratio.

Image 9619 - A lot of channeling it seems on the outer edges. This was with a grind size 1.25 setting (coarser) than image 9569. 5 seconds to first drip. ~24 seconds for a 1:2 ratio.

Any clue on what I can do differently?

GDM528

#2: Post by GDM528 »

If you load the portafilter into the group head, tighten, then remove it, is there a ring in the (dry) grind around the perimeter (like in your photos)? Or is that ring formed when the puck gets pulled up into the shower screen when the pressure is released at the end of the shot?

Dtkoffee

#3: Post by Dtkoffee »

To add to the prior post, it looks like the ring around the water screen is touching your grinds. In other words, you have too much coffee grounds or aren't tamping hard enough. I would try using 18 grams of coffee and / or tamping harder to create more head space.

If that isn't the issue, remove your shower screen and do some cleaning.

espressoren

#4: Post by espressoren »