Can't pull an espresso longer than 15 seconds

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Skimball

#1: Post by Skimball »

I'm a TOTAL newbie here with a Breville Barista Pro. I understand that the espresso isn't supposed to start running until after the 8 second mark and should continue running for 24-32 seconds. Despite fresh beans (roasted 6 days ago) and changing the grind from 15 to 10, I'm still only pulling the drink for 15 seconds. I can't seem to get past that. I've tried tamping with more pressure, too. How can I best attack this problem one variable at a time? I'm getting so frustrated from seeing zero progress that I'm ready to give up entirely.

yakster
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by yakster »

Grind finer.
-Chris

LMWDP # 272

Ken5

#3: Post by Ken5 »

Had the barista express and I could not get pressure even when setting the external wheel to 1, I had to change the internal settings too, which should not be necessary.

Grind size has more effect than tamp from what I hear. Most important thing with tamp pressure is to keep it the same so that you can concentrate on adjusting grind. Another thing that will cause low pressure is channeling. Preparing the puck is more than pressing with the tamper. You need to make sure that the grounds are even and well distributed otherwise the high spots will compress as much as it can, but the shallow or softer areas might not pack at all... and of course the water will go that way rather than through the harder compacted area. Also cracks and separation of the grounds from the basket will create a lower pressure flow. Making sure the tamper is level when you press is very important too.

Many YouTube videos on preparing the puck.

Also, don't just dump the grinds out when the shot is done. Take a look at it to see if it is even, press your finger down in multiple spots to see if it has soft spots. Then knock it out to see if it has even thickness.

sweaner

#4: Post by sweaner »