Bottomless versus double spout portafilter

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
bobkat
Supporter ♡

#1: Post by bobkat »

So.......I do not have a lot of experience making espresso. I have been using a double spout PF with my Synchronika for about 9 months....17 grams for 27 seconds. My wife and I were OK with that. Today, I tried using the same dose with a bottomless PF. The result was much darker, stronger and more flavorful. Do you think the difference was the portafilter?

Jeff
Team HB

#2: Post by Jeff »

As the spouts are below the bottom of the basket, what bottomless vs. spouted can influence is limited.

One possibility is that the spouts might lower the temperature of the overall system, which might reduce the brew temperature. That's a guess.

Another set of possibilities are around that it is just "normal variance" or that the sight and scent of the coffee flowing effortlessly from the bottomless enhanced your overall morning.

Jake_G
Team HB

#3: Post by Jake_G »

Did you swap baskets from the spouted to the bottomless, or use the basket that came with the bottomless?

Changing baskets changes basically everything.

Cheers!

- Jake
LMWDP #704

RapidCoffee
Team HB

#4: Post by RapidCoffee »

bobkat wrote:I have been using a double spout PF with my Synchronika for about 9 months... Today, I tried using the same dose with a bottomless PF. The result was much darker, stronger and more flavorful. Do you think the difference was the portafilter?
Absolutely not. There is no reason why you'd get a "stronger" shot by changing portafilters. But as Jake notes, changing baskets could easily account for a different extraction.

This question takes me back to the early days of the bottomless PF (15+ years ago). IIRC the only difference in shots was slightly smoother crema from the regular PF.
John

bobkat (original poster)
Supporter ♡

#5: Post by bobkat (original poster) »