Bottomless Portafilter Mess

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
breadline

#1: Post by breadline »

Hi, I'm new to espresso and am having a lot of trouble using a bottomless portafilter. I'm dosing 20g into a stock triple basket and am aiming for 40g of espresso in approximately 25 seconds. What I'm getting is spraying in every possible direction and a wildly uneven flow. The espresso is blonding very quickly and is thin. I've watched videos of messy bottomless portafiter extractions and mine are far worse than any I've seen. I am taking great care to prepare the puck before each shot, distributing evenly, redistributing , tamping evenly etc.

Here is a prepared puck

And here is the puck after extraction, you can see what appear to be the channels in the bottom left corner as well as in the center. There is some coffee left on the shower as well, though I tried reducing the dose (to 18g) and this did not appear to fix the problem.

I'm using Counter Culture single origin coffee that was roasted two days ago.

Is it possible that the dispersion screen/ shower are contributing to the problem? When I pull water through the grouphead without a portafilter the water comes out somewhat unevenly.

Thanks

erik82

#2: Post by erik82 »

Forget the stock triple basket because they're crap and useless. Put a normal double basket in the naked or buy a decent triple basket. Also 2 days post roast is really fresh and better to wait till there 5-7 days post-roast.

PS. Don't think that you can see channeling in the puck because you can't. Look for the term puckology and you'll find out how little there is to tell about a puck.

Advertisement
Espresso_Junky

#3: Post by Espresso_Junky »

I have to disagree as looking at a spent puck can show a few things. Wonder what coffee nerd came up with 'puckology', lmao.

erik82

#4: Post by erik82 »