Bitter taste. What am I doing wrong?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
JoEYC

#1: Post by JoEYC »

Hey guys. I'm very new to this and hoping to get some help. I have the Capresso EC Pro and breville dose control grinder. I'm pulling a double shot (2oz) in 20-24 seconds and getting a real bitter taste. Also Using Lavazzi super crema beans. What am I doing wrong?

jwCrema
Supporter ❤

#2: Post by jwCrema »

Honestly, I still look at this to double check what I am going to do before I tweak something.

Espresso 101: How to Adjust Dose and Grind Setting by Taste

Advertisement
another_jim
Team HB

#3: Post by another_jim »

Your shot timing is good.

Try experimenting with finer grinds/less beans or coarser grid/more beans. These combos will give roughly the same timing, since the resistance of the puck will remain the same. But the extraction levels will change, also changing the taste. The usual advice for excessive bitterness is to go to coarser grinds and higher doses; but Italian bar blends are designed for very fine grinds and low doses (i.e. to save money), so that direction may work better.

Best of luck
Jim Schulman

JoEYC (original poster)

#4: Post by JoEYC (original poster) replying to another_jim »

Thanks guys!!!

I'll give this a try and see how it works. I did originally try a coarser grind and it did lose the bitter taste but the shot pulled way too fast at 11sec. I have to invest in a scale but I'll try the finer grind/less beans in the meantime and keep you posted.

Thank you

Eastsideloco

#5: Post by Eastsideloco »

This blend also has a Robusta component:

"Lavazza Super Crema whole bean espresso roast combines washed and unwashed Arabica and washed Robusta coffee beans that originate from Brazil, Central America, and Indonesia."

That will impart a bitterness (and a jittery-ness) that you might not find with 100% Arabica blends.