Becoming a Better Taster

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks.
tennisman03110

#1: Post by tennisman03110 »

Hello All,

I'm still new in my home espresso adventures. I have a Breville Duo Temp and Baratza 270, but use it off and on. V60 is my usual.

On this forum I see how to adjust espresso depending on taste. But how do you learn to taste espresso? I can tell if I like something, but just can't seem to understand the subtle differences of acidic, sour, slightly bitter, etc.

Sure, lemon juice is sour. 100% chocolate is bitter. Sugar is sweet, etc. But espresso.....I don't know how to learn.

Currently, I am using a freshly roasted (May 26th) bag of Blue Bottle Dandy Espresso. I brew 18g double about 36g out, total time about 30 seconds (12 seconds to first drop). It pours fast once it starts, not slow/thin/viscous like I see in videos. Freshly cleaned machine.

I'm down to a 4G setting on the 270. I'm making it finer each time. I will take a video next time I brew.

To the point, I don't love it. I think it's sour/acidic, but maybe it's bitter? Does have nice crema. I really can't tell. The last bag of coffee I went through, which was a month ago, was BW Classic which I liked more.

Any tips? Online videos to watch? Or anything you see in the process to improve.

Thanks

DamianWarS

#2: Post by DamianWarS »

There is a notable dryness or astringency that is associated with over extracted coffee. Essentially keep going finer until you hit this dryness then go back a touch coarser to get optimal zone.

Keep control of other things as well like dose, shot time and yield all of which you can play with extraction but to start I would keep it simple. Use the dose that the basket is rated for, the shot time between 25s - 30s and the yield twice as much as your dose which is a 2:1 ratio. So if you put 20gr of coffee in aim for 40gr of coffee between 25s - 30s using the correct dose for your basket.