Bean de-gassing, accelerated aging and vaccum containers

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Vindibona1

#1: Post by Vindibona1 »

I have a subscrption of medium roast beans that come every week. While the box is not marked with a roast date, based on the "best by" dates I cannot imagine that the beans are more than 5 days off the roaster. The new beans stay in the boxes they were shipped in and sit in my cabinet for a few days while I finish up the last batch.

I thought I was doing something good to keep my beans fresh as I worked through them as I bought a vacuum container that pumps the air out. It has a little post that gets sucked down when there is vacuum pull on to show that most of the air had been sucked out. However, especially with new beans, after 24 hours or so the post is sticking up indicating that there was no longer vacuum pressure inside the container. [Shortly after I got the container I found out the hard way that all the pressure had been released as I grabbed the lid and spilled 12 oz of beans all over the floor :( ].

I have to assume that the release of the internal vacuum pressure is due to bean de-gassing. Yes/no???? I make that assumption because as the week progresses there remains some residual vacuum each day...

....HOWEVER... What I am wondering is if the vacuum container is causing the beans to de-gass more quickly than if I just left them in an air tight container, like an old empty Illy coffee can? The reason that this is a concern is because it appears that my "dialed in" recipes only work for a day or two, and consistency from day to day is almost non-existent, which frustrates the heck out of me as my routine is as repeatable as humanly possible.

Does the vacuum container accelerate bean aging, and should I consider abandoning the vaccum container in lieu of just an air tight one?

ira
Team HB

#2: Post by ira »