Basket sticks to gasket. New gasket-which one?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Vindibona1

#1: Post by Vindibona1 »

I've been enjoying my Quick Mill QM67 for a few months and all seems to be well, except that I have a perplexing problem. The basket in my naked portafilter regularly gets stuck to the gasket. So from time to time when I remove the PF the basket remains attached. Usually I can just take a paper towel, reach up and push the basket a bit and it frees iteself and drops out. Once in awhile it's stuck to the gasket like glue.

FWIW I am very fastidious about keeping things clean. The rim of the basket is wiped before and afte every pull. I have a brush that fits inside the head to brush out any ground or debris from inside the head and on the gasket and use it regularly, though not every day. Every couple of days I remove the gasket and shower screen and clean those, paying particular attention to the gasket. Even right after cleaning on the next pull the basket might stick and I have to "encourage" it manually to drop out of the head.

While this is obviously not a critical issue, it's just annoying. And for the most part gaskets are pretty cheap, most seem to cost under $10 USD. Reasonable price isn't an issue. So should I just change out the OEM gasket for something else? I know that there are some gaskets that are softer than others. The OEM one is hard rubber(?). Not sure what the substance is. There are "silicone" gaskets in different colors, so presumably softer.

1) Should I replace the gasket?
2) What brand or material? Does the material matter which thickness?
3)8mmm or 8.5mm based on answer to Q2?

Thanks in advance for the advice

iyayy

#2: Post by iyayy »

im not really sure if gasket should be squeky clean or have some food grade grease. someone can maybe chime on this.