Basket Overdosing; time for a serious re-evaluation! - Page 21

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
cafeIKE

#201: Post by cafeIKE »

nixter wrote:The improved shots are obvious as I have a naked PF.
Really! And just how does the npf describe the taste?

Dark Star

#202: Post by Dark Star »

Ken Fox wrote:It is my opinion that 12 or 14g of coffee is more than enough to make a balanced concentrated 1.0 or 1.5oz beverage...
Ken,

I am admittedly coming in on this very late and as a complete newbie. I am completely onboard with what you have presented in this thread, but I am unclear on something. Throughout this discussion you have talked about dosing for "doubles" with ~14g of coffee, yet the above quote implies that you are regularly only pulling 1.0 to 1.5 oz (a single shot volume) from that quantity of coffee. If that is true, then are you not, in fact, still overdosing by 100% as compared to what is defined as true espresso normale (7g for a 20-30ml drink)? I am not asking this to be in any way confrontational. I am completely onboard with the concept of using classical dosing and techniques. I am just looking for clarification, and I am not sure that you have actually taken this concept quite far enough. In your experimentation, have you pulled a true double volume (2.5 or 3.0 ounces total) from your ~14g dosed double baskets? If so, what is your opinion regarding the results? Please do not overlook the fact that when you refer to the Italians dosing with 12-14g or so that they are also most likely pulling two shots of volume through that dose, whereas people in the US cramming 20+g into a basket may typically be pulling one shot volume or less through it (it sounds like you yourself may only be pulling a single's worth of volume through your ~14g doses).