Basket Overdosing; time for a serious re-evaluation! - Page 11

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
courghan

#101: Post by courghan »

Ken, I see your point and I am happy not be alone in thinking that too make a good or a very good espresso someone does not need years of training and spending thousands of euro/dollars on extra add-ons and modifications to their gear. Don't get me wrong: I am a mechanical engineer and I love modding stuff. After having my gear for only 3 months I was already over the drawings to try and see how it could be better...but knowing that there is, in fact, a lot of R&D around the coffee gear, as well as a lot of passion, I started to think that maybe they were not needed. Some mods and techniques are useful to adapt the prosumer gear to a light home use, but I think are not essential for a good cup. Of course I will keep on modding but that's because I love doing it!
I agree that all the italian coffee blends you buy out of Italy is old and not properly...but when I was in Rome I managed to make good espressos using pre-ground coffee (only some selected brands that I have never seen abroad, such as Pellini, Vergnano, Palombini, etc) and my father's Gaggia espresso!
It is also true that Italians in Italy are much less "fussy" about espresso and, in my opinion, that's because we can drink a good espresso pretty much at every corner of the street, from 6am to 11pm, 365 days a year. Only a few places in Rome, for example, i would say have a great great espresso and they are mostly places that roast their own coffee almost on daily bases. Same applies for Pizza: in Rome I can have an amazing pizza in some places, a good one pretty much everywhere and i would have to specifically look for a really crap one. I am sometimes amazed by the quality of the espresso in some coffee shops when i am abroad as well as I am aware of the extremely low quality of the average espresso in the same countries.