Basic basic: Americano or Coffee

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
TeeGreeThree

#1: Post by TeeGreeThree »

I'm a brand newbie. My head is already swimming reading some of these intro FAQs. Let me back up, and ask a simple question to set me on the right path.

First, I should preface this by saying that I drink mostly decaf. Not by choice, it's the only thing I can tolerate. I add a bit of caffeine by mixing in a tiny bit of regular caffeinated, but decaf is always the bulk of my coffee beans. So the quality of my coffee is limited by that, no matter what.

I have two ways I've made coffee, and I would like to start upgrading, but first I think I need to choose a path:

I've made drip coffee using a cheap coffeemaker and a baratza encore for a few years. It's been eh, passable, not great.

More recently I've been making Americanos with delonghi dedica to make the shots. At first I was using ESE pods for convenience. It was eh. Recently I had a local coffeeshop grind me some decaf espresso beans and used that instead, and it reminded me, oh right, coffee can actually taste somewhat good.

So now I'm interested in going further, and starting to attempt to make actually decent coffee drinks at home (as far as my decaf limitations will allow).

My question is: should I continue down this Americano path, which means an espresso path, which from what I've read is much much more difficult than the traditional coffee methods (meaning drip / pour over / etc)? Or should I give that up as a fools errand, and just try to make a good cup of traditional coffee via drip / pour over / etc.