Bad cracks and donut + channeling with Elektra Microcasa a Leva

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks.
StefanoB

#1: Post by StefanoB »

I am still new with the Elektra, and with espresso in general.

I have now a bottomless portafilter, and discovered with it my extraction are horrible :wink:

Here is below a few photos of my setting, a typical extraction I get, and puck afterwards.

My grinder is Commandante C40 with Redclix.

I am currently using Illy intenso, batch just bought to Illy Cafè they have received last week, new box opened (roast date is July 2020 but beans are kept under void).

My routine is to grind, transfer from the C40 dosing glass cup to basket+dosing funnel (I prepare the puck directly on the basket, the pf is on the group head heating in the meantime), stir vigorously and achieve an even surface with the Londinium-type WDT, do two gentle vertical taps on the mat to settle grounds a bit, then create a flat surface with the OCD-type tool (from bplus, made for La Pavoni pre-mils), tamp straight and direct (moderate force, just stop when I just feel the coffee bed start to resist, no fancy moves such as nutation or rotation after) with the stainless steel 49.5mm tamper on the photo below.

I am using Elektra's stock basket. I have done testing to determine, using a 20 cent euro coin, that 13.0g is the maximum dose for this basket and this specific coffee (at 13.5g the coin leave a mark in the puck when fully locking the pf, at 13.0g the puck have no mark at all after locking - unlocking). But to be 100% sure I don't have any updosing issue whatsoever I am using now 12.0g in this basket.