Adjusting final espresso weight

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
HotLava

#1: Post by HotLava »

Hi all

I'm trying to decrease my final weight of a double espresso. I'm pulling a 1:3.5 ratio. I used 16 grams of coffee and final weight was 56g. Brew time was 30-35 seconds. Coffee is about 2 weeks off of roast. It tastes well balanced. I think I am at as fine of a grind as my machine will handle. I can stop the water early but then I won't have 2 oz. I can use more coffee. Or I can loosen up the grind.

It would seem to me that the more coffee I use the more soluble material will be in the end product. Will this increase or decrease the weight?

I'm new to using brew ratios and weight and must admit it's confusing still after reading up on the forum.

Help
Joe

Nunas
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by Nunas »