Where do you roast

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
fizguy

#1: Post by fizguy »

I have been roasting with a Behmor for many years. I dream of having a roastery or cafe when I retire (or before!) and of a better roaster in any case.

My question (for now), for those of you with something better, where do you roast? With the behmor I simply roast in front of an open window with a fan perched on top and aimed outside.

A huky could go on my stovetop with the ventilation fan on, I think. What about something which requires a propane tank? Do you have a dedicated space? Store then roast outside? Garage?

Regards

Justin

mkane
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by mkane »

In the garage. The smoke just goes everywhere but, I'm old and nothing's going to shorten my lifespan at my advanced age. I choose this before drilling a hole in the wall.

Baratza: skilled in the art of grinding
Sponsored by Baratza
keno

#3: Post by keno »

Garage. I roast on a BC-2 with propane, so indoors is out of the question. I have my roaster set up near the front of the garage and open the main door. I also put a hole through the wall for a vent pipe. I use a large fan as well.

Nunas
Supporter ♡

#4: Post by Nunas »

Covered patio, on a table. There's an overhead fan, useful on hot days.

TallDan

#5: Post by TallDan »

Can't resist commenting here because I suspect that I'm the only person who has a Mill City roaster in their dining room. When I got it, the dining room was supposed to be temporary and I planned to make a space for it in the basement or garage. That was a few years ago now...

yakster
Supporter ♡

#6: Post by yakster »