What does your venting system look like?

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
709espresso

#1: Post by 709espresso »

I'm new to home roasting, and I'm using a budget machine (Behmor). So far, I've been roasting in the kitchen under the range hood. It's okay, but smells still linger in our open plan upper floor for days after roasting, and I can smell the roast on the hood itself for days too. If I go past second crack with some beans, I get quite a bit of smoke - enough to set off the smoke detectors.

So, I'm thinking about making a set up that I can use elsewhere - either in my workshop (not so great hygienically), or back entrance (not so good because that's where our electrical panel is). Both are in our finished basement. These are really the only two places that I can vent through a window in winter without making the whole house freezing cold without too much concern about long term residue build up on the walls and ceiling.

I was thinking of using an inline duct fan, inside 4" or 6" ducting that goes to the outdoors through a panel that's a window replacement. 4" seems to provide up to around 200CFM, while a 6" provides up to around 380CFM. I'm not too concerned about noise levels as long as I can still hear FC and SC. The larger diameter is more money, and would be more clumsy to set up when I want to use it (it would never be a permanent set up - I imagine a cart with my behmor on it, that I wheel into the space, and vent out the window while I'm using it. The fan is variable speed, so a 6" would do the job. I'm just not sure if its massive overkill. What would you use? Or better yet, what DO you use?

Squeezin' Beans

#2: Post by Squeezin' Beans »

I've seen dryers vented to buckets of water, I can't imagine the smoke would be too bad if ducted that way, but I guess that depends on the size of the roast. Maybe if you kept a larger charcoal filter on the bucket exhaust.

CarefreeBuzzBuzz