Starting a Roastery

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
savagebrood

#1: Post by savagebrood »

I have been roasting coffee now for a couple years just as a hobby for myself and friends. I think I want to start a small business now as just a side hustle. I would love anyone who has made this leap from hobby to job to help me not make common mistakes, or to hear what you did that worked well and what you'd change if you could go back. Any and all advice is welcome.

Tony d

#2: Post by Tony d replying to savagebrood »

Hi! This is exactly the path I took and now do roasting as my full-time job as of around 3 years now. I started out of my garage roasting on a huky500 and my wife would go to a local farmers market and sell the 10 or so bags that I had roasted that week. We really were just gauging if there was interest without investing a lot and there seemed to be a market.
We decided to take the plunge and invest in a 5k roaster after 2 seasons of doing the farmers market and that coincided with the covid lockdown and I was told not to come back to my job which turned out to be a good thing for us as it afforded us the time to focus on getting proper packaging designed and a website up so we were ready by the next season to really market our coffee ( we live in a heavy tourist area in the summer). I always planned on returning to work but roasting kind of took of and I (fingers crossed) haven't had to resort to working a real job since :D
Our strategy has always been to focus on bringing delicious coffee to our direct community but because there's not many options for wholesale we really have to focus on marketing to tourists in the summer and really depend on those online purchases in the winter. So far we seem to be doing ok financially (ok as in just barely scraping by but living our dream)