"Homemade" Small roaster cyclone

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
DanoM

#1: Post by DanoM »

2023/03/19: Update and results of running this for 1 year: "Homemade" Small roaster cyclone

I've been using a Kaldi Fortis roaster since 2017 along with the bean cooler for roasting fan. Now it's time for an upgrade. After reading over the New Kaldi Fortis Setup thread I decided to try a cyclone collector.

My first concern is having a heat tolerant system, and that would preclude using a plastic cyclone. Unfortunately the general Chinese made aluminium cyclones are generally pretty small, still I decided to give one of them a try. I found a 32mm input/output aluminium cyclone on Aliexpress that would give a substantial boost in throughput compared to the usual 25mm input/output model.
For those that like numbers:
Square mm throughput for each device:
Kaldi Fortis: 1963
SN25T5: 490 (~25% of Kaldi)
SN32T5: 804 (~40% of Kaldi) << My selected model

Here are the major parts used along with information and links to the Aliexpress website. Be forewarned, Aliexpress links aren't very reliable going forward so you might have to do some searching.
Cyclone: Cyclone dust collector ( aluminum alloy, turbocharged )
Model SN32T5
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005003268558815.html

Blower: Mini powerful 12v DC electric air blower fan 20w high temperature resistant brushless motor 50mm pipe with speed control
Model D20R50
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32367788851.html

Power Supply: AC/DC Adjustable Power Supply 3V-12VDC 5A
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4001286156313.html

I fit the cyclone to a 20 liter bucket with sealing lid. As a seal for the cyclone to bucket I used a silicone lid for bowls from the dollar store; thick enough and right sized for a great seal.

You can see there is plenty of room at the bottom of the bucket for chaff.

Had some heater exhaust pipe around, and used that to connect the blower to the cyclone.