Rate my mods? Fluid bed Phidgets rebuild

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
Mr_Flauschig

#1: Post by Mr_Flauschig »

I'm just getting into roasting and bought a used fluid bed roaster. The hardware is good, but the software implementation sucks, so I'm going Artisan.

The machine is 1400w and rated for 60-120g. It uses a single thermocouple for BT. I'm going to add two more for inlet temperature and environment temperature, and use three RTD probes connected to three TMP1200_1 modules. They then connect to a VINT hub, HUB0002_0.

For outgoing commands, I'm doing PWM using OUT1100. These PWM commands go to two optoisolator triac drivers MOC3023, which then control the fan and heater, separately. The optoisolators and triacs are built into the roaster, so for controlling the roaster all I have to do is provide the PWM signals (hopefully).

Just because I can, I'm also going to add a load cell (via DAQ1500) to monitor the weight loss real time.

I've created a basic schematic of what I'm going to do. I've been searching the various roasting forums, to see how other people did similar projects, so I think I'm on the right track? If anyone has thoughts or recommendations, they would be appreciated.

georgemvg

#2: Post by georgemvg »

Hi! I think i saw it again at Sweet Μaria, to roast with a scale. Maybe I am missing something, but how will the scale work if the beans are flying in the air?

randytsuch

#3: Post by randytsuch »

I looked at the out1100, it shows a min pwm frequency of 100 Hz.
Pretty sure that is too high. FWIW, when I was putting my roaster together, I landed at 5 Hz, and it seems to work fine in my SCTO.
I see my heater turn on and off when I adjust power levels during the roast.

Randy

MaKoMo

#4: Post by MaKoMo »

Mr_Flauschig wrote:..and use three RTD probes connected to three TMP1200_1 modules. They then connect to a VINT hub, HUB0002_0.