New to my Huky - Thoughts

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
dano_850joe

#1: Post by dano_850joe »

Hey Everyone,
I'm relatively new to roasting and I'm very new to using a Huky/Artisan. I was using a sr540 for a few months before upgrading.

I bought a 33 lb bag of 'bag ends' from Showroom Coffee to just roast a ton and try to get used to using the roaster in order to not waste a ton of 'good beans'. The only info I have on them is that Tanzanian washed beans.

I'm looking for any tips/tricks/thoughts on this. I've done a lot of internet research watching youtube, read Coffee Roaster's Companion, watched some of Mill City roaster school online and plan to finish but that's very time consuming and I'm trying to roast!

Here's what I'm doing so far. I'm using a 300g batch, preheating to around 420F with fan on low and keeping that steady for about 15 - 20 minutes by making very small adjustments to the gas to keep it right at that temp. Then I reduce heat and let the temp drop to around 375 and get it steady, then cut the heat and fan completely. I let the temp drop to 370 and charge. At 1:10 I turned the heat on high and fan on a medium/low setting.

Then, after that, any plan I have goes out the window and I'm just pretty much making adjustments on the fly. I know I want to build momentum so I leave it on high but start lowering heat as I approach dry end. I don't really have a targets like reduce by or bet at a certain kPa at certain times/temperatures or anything. I couldn't even tell you what adjustments I made when. I think as I get better at it I'll start being able to notice more things like that but right now it's all very hectic for me still.