New Ikawa Home Roaster - 100g capacity - Page 30

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
patrickneil

#291: Post by patrickneil »

Wow. Thanks for all the quick and thoughtful replies. I don't want to hijack this post and am happy to start a new thread but I am currently between buying the Ikawa Home Roaster or Bullet (assuming I can source one). I am brand new to roasting and know next to nothing at this point but want to learn. Any thoughts on the best direction to go?

ira
Team HB

#292: Post by ira »

I find it hard to believe a 120 gm load would work as even slightly raising the fan speed on a 100 gram batch gets close to blowing beans out during the roast. The reason I raised the fan speed is it seemed to be needed to keep the beans moving.

Ira

mgrayson
Supporter ♡

#293: Post by mgrayson » replying to ira »

The claim of 120g was for the Pro. I have no experience with which to back up or refute it.

mariowar
Supporter ♡

#294: Post by mariowar »

I have been thinking and there might be a light at the end of the tunnel to be able to roast 100g extending roasting times a few seconds....

I wonder if any members that have access to the Graph Editor could edit and share Ikawa's recommended Washed Espresso profile:
Roast Degree : Medium
Development : High

All what I ask is to extend the development phase from 8:40 to 9:00 minutes.

Let me know if this is possible.

Thanks!

RyanP

#295: Post by RyanP » replying to mariowar »

'Espresso medium++++' freshly roasted by @ikawahome, here's the recipe
https://share.ikawa.support/profile_hom ... hlZCIAKAA=

mariowar
Supporter ♡

#296: Post by mariowar »

RyanP wrote: 'Espresso medium++++' freshly roasted by @ikawahome, here's the recipe
https://share.ikawa.support/profile_hom ... hlZCIAKAA=
RyanP,

Awesome! Thanks a bunch!!

GDM528

#297: Post by GDM528 » replying to mariowar »