Moved from Behmor to Hottop- How to Keep Body

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
jlehet

#1: Post by jlehet »

I've been roasting for over a year and a half on the Behmor. We drink a fair bit of coffee, and I've gotten pretty good at getting a variety of origins to come out in ways that please me on the Behmor. 360+ roasts, most of them very drinkable or quite good -- better than I can buy locally anyway. I know there are notes I couldn't hit -- clean bright and clear fruit, for one thing. Basically I'm a beginner still, but I've gotten to know what the Behmor can and can't do by now.

I often roast with a Variac. We have solar panels, and on a sunny day my line voltage is quite good, over 120v at the outlet before drawing through the 12 gauge wire. And the variac of course gives me 120.

So now I've been roasting with the Hottop 2k+ for about a week, hooked up to Artisan. I've adopted a very different approach than I used on the Behmor, based on youtube videos I've watched of Hottop roasters and Artisan roasts. There are many more possibilities. With the Behmor most of the time my approach was to give it as much heat as possible, spin the drum faster, and hit cool at at the right time -- the latter being the main trick. Of course taking it out of the cool cycle after a minute instead of 12.

On the Hottop my main approach with variation has been to use between 150 and 200g of beans (I'll standardize eventually). I've been charging at between 380 and 415, heat to zero until turning point, then heat at 100, backing off a little before Dry End, more air, less heat as I go along, hitting the heat a bit after maybe 10 sec of First Crack. Unless I want a darker roast I'm dumping right the beans right after the end of First Crack or maybe 5 or 10 seconds longer in general on this roaster. I'm trying to keep my RoR curve generally declining. I suspect maybe too much emphasis on that is the problem I'm having.