Mill City 1k/North TJ- 067 Artisan Phidget settings

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
Nickb13

#1: Post by Nickb13 »

Hi I am looking for help with Artisan Settings for my 2016 version North TJ-067 (now Mill city 1k) roaster. I am using a phidget 1048 and so far I installed the drivers from phidget without any further tweaking. I chose Phidget USB 1048 as my machine and device with default settings. The RoR is crazy all over the place and I am new to learning to roast so I am not sure if I am roasting very poorly or the machine settings are way off but I am hoping it is the latter. Trying to adjust for this curve is really hurting my roasting ability. When I first bought this roaster it had an old Win 7 desktop and I was hoping that the computer was off but replaced with a new laptop and even worse. I am charging at 400 on the PID, soaking for a minute, setting my gas to 2.5 kpa making minor adjustments increasing airflow, and decreasing gas at dry end and first crack to finish around 10 min at 421. One thing I checked is that my thermocouple looks like it should be bent into the beans though it is hard to see clearly. I am hoping to give you as much info as I can. Please let me know if there is an optimal way to set up this specific machine.

Mbb

#2: Post by Mbb »

Looks like your temperature responded fine until after the turning point so it really doesn't look like it's artisan or phidget.

Nickb13 (original poster)

#3: Post by Nickb13 (original poster) »

I changed smoothing settings and it really helped.

Mbb

#4: Post by Mbb »