Kaldi Wide 400 New User Advice

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
mattmar10

#1: Post by mattmar10 »

New to the forum, and new to roasting. I'm looking to buy my first "real" roaster and have been looking at the Kaldi Wide 400. I've been searching the forums here and elsewhere but am having some trouble understanding a couple of things.

Do I need the Center 306 Datalogger thermometer to hook up to Artisan? Somewhere I read to go with some other setup with Phidgets instead of the 306. What is the best/simplest setup to hook up to artisan (note, running a Macbook pro)?

How much does burner matter? I have been looking at the GasOne 15000 BTU model, but would a setup such as the one outlined in this thread be better?

Are there any other gotchas to be aware of with this machine?

Capuchin Monk

#2: Post by Capuchin Monk »

I've been using Gas One dual fuel burner for over 3 years on my Kaldi New Wide (a.k.a Wide 400) and it works fine. It has max output of 8367 btu/h with propane gas.

I bought my Kaldi with Center 306 logger option and it works with Artisan.

Advertisement
Capuchin Monk

#3: Post by Capuchin Monk »

mattmar10 wrote:Are there any other gotchas to be aware of with this machine?
Kind of. It's cheaper than Kaldi Fortis but it lacks the bean hopper and chute gate. If I'm buying again, I would spend little extra and get the Fortis.

littlenut

#4: Post by littlenut »

mattmar10 wrote:New to the forum, and new to roasting. I'm looking to buy my first "real" roaster and have been looking at the Kaldi Wide 400. I've been searching the forums here and elsewhere but am having some trouble understanding a couple of things.

Do I need the Center 306 Datalogger thermometer to hook up to Artisan? Somewhere I read to go with some other setup with Phidgets instead of the 306. What is the best/simplest setup to hook up to artisan (note, running a Macbook pro)?