Internal scorching and tipping.

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
saveme45

#1: Post by saveme45 »

Greetings to all!
I am a beginner roaster. I'm roasting on a Yoshan BY-1 roaster. Each roast is burnt. Basically i get tipping on any beans. I followed the tips for decreasing burner energy, increasing drum speed, decreasing / increasing airflow. The grain is darker on the inside than on the outside. This defect is more pronounced on the grain of natural processing. I tried roasting for 15 minutes, stretching the drying phase to 7 minutes. I tried quick roast for 8 minutes and the problem persists. Maybe someone owns this machine and can give advice on how to avoid a defect on it? The supplier does not reply to emails. I'm already try to use heat shield between burners and drum, it doesnt work :( now i increase distance from burner to drum, i'll try to roast this week.

OldmatefromOZ

#2: Post by OldmatefromOZ »

Assume by burners its gas roaster?

What is the actual internal diameter of the drum? As its a good starting point to set drum rpm by. Going by pictures alone it looks like a longer style drum which work better at whatever the highest recommended rpm is for its diameter in my experience.

What batch sizes have you tried?
The burners might be quite powerful possibly even overpowered for the size of the drums roasting environment hot box?
So small batches become very hard to control and are overwhelmed by too much heat sealing in the juices, basically the seeds just take on far too much heat too quickly.

Its possible that the roaster might be optimal using an 1kg charge or possibly 1.2kg with highest possible drum speed
( im guessing by looks 76 to 78 rpm might be good for the long drum)

Set your airflow using the cigarette lighter trick on trier hole 2 to 3 mins into a 1kg green roast and leave it alone or only make one small increase at dry end / beans yellow.