Ikawa Home vs Bullet

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
pcofftenyo
Supporter ♡

#1: Post by pcofftenyo »

" I am currently between buying the Ikawa Home Roaster or Bullet (assuming I can source one). I am brand new to roasting and know next to nothing at this point but want to learn. Any thoughts on the best direction to go?"

The most appropriate comparison to the Ikawa Home would be Sweet Maria's Popper Roaster. It's fully manual so there's no programming like the Ikawa but its about $150. Super easy to use and produces decent coffee pretty easily. I'd suspect the Ikawa has an edge from repeatability once a good roast is obtained. Also, while the Ikawa only roasts 100 grams its plug and play so subsequent back to back roasts add volume pretty quickly. I won't speculate on cup differences here.

The Bullet is a different animal from either. Much larger capacity at 300 gram minimum effective charge. Can easily repeat previous roasts through playback mode. Can easily adjust roasts on the fly. Needs a laptop for operation. Probably a bigger learning curve than the Ikawa but using playback will shorten that a lot.

As far as the cup, I've had some spectacular coffee from my buddies Ikawa pro but nothing on that level from the Bullet. BUT I've only had my own Bullet roasts and still learning. I bought one recently and think it is capable; just challenged at this point. 4 years working a Huky so I'm not new to roasting.

yakster
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by yakster »

I have the Bullet but have no experience with the Ikawa. I started roasting on a thrifted hot air popcorn roaster with a thermometer but quickly got tired of the small batch size and upgraded to a Behmor (350 g) and now a Bullet (700 g).