IKAWA Home - profiles - Page 20

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
ira
Team HB

#191: Post by ira »

At this point I have 2 different greens in the freezer and I've lost track of which is which. I've been using the same profile for a few months, I believe for both types and I've been completely happy with the results using that profile with with both coffees. I've got the profile to the place where I just let it run to the end and start cooling on it's own. I can't tell you when it hits first crack or when it yellows, but the coffee is good to me which is all I care about.

GDM528

#192: Post by GDM528 »

"One profile..."

I may have been brainwashed into reading too much into how a specific coffee green should be roasted. And not just by Ikawa - I've yet to see a bag of commercially roasted coffee with the roasting curve printed on the bag. I suspect mystique can be useful tool for economic purposes.

Yes, I have experimentally confirmed that the shape of the profile does alter the taste - but both versions tasted just fine. I also see postings from people who enjoy their roasted coffee... from a second-hand whirly-pop they bought from a Goodwill store. I've also determined my espresso-making technique is a bigger variable than my roasting: I had a roast profile I didn't like, until someone suggested pulling it as a Ristretto... magic!

For me, one of the strengths of the Ikawa is being able to check the weather forecast for next week and adjust the roast to match the mood. With tweakability in mind, I've been settling into just a couple 'shapes': Stepped, and RoR. The RoR profile wins for new-to-me or limited quantity greens, and Stepped wins to combat boredom with large quantities of the same green.

Milligan
Supporter ❤

#193: Post by Milligan »