Ikawa Home Coffee Roaster.

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
P100CoffeeEur

#1: Post by P100CoffeeEur »

Alright im new to roasting so I invested in Ikawa Home Roaster (100g)

I used honduras, Finca Cual Bicocleta directly from Ikawa. I used 75 grams to roast both Filter and Espresso preset profile. But it tastes just bad. Bad to the point i regret purchasing a roaster and even attempting to roast. So i need help. Ive attached the preset roasting profile for this green coffee bean. What am I doing wrong? Thought i was going to get some edible coffee bean when using preset roasting profile but this is extremely bad.

For Filter i did 19grams in 290grams out. About 1:15. When its hot its drinkable but not enjoyable. But when it get lukewarm/cold, it tastes just bitter and extremely unpleasant

For espresso, i did 18g in 36 out. 24 seconds. Standard recipe for espresso. But it just tastes very sour and bitter. No body, sweetness and anything pleasant.

What am I doing wrong. What Can I fix? I really need some input.

My gears are: ECM Synchronika, Niche Grinder/Lucca Atom 75/ Ikawa Home Roaster (NOT PRO).

Please please help. Thank you in advance

MNate

#2: Post by MNate »

I think the beginner's approach is to do a batch at varying roast degrees until you find the general range you like. Use their supplied profile but change the roast degree. And I feel like most of us are using the ++ development for espresso.

There are just so many easy options, but you have to find what you like.

Of course some have taken a deeper dive and created their own curves, but for now, totally ignore the curve (it's not a Rate of Rise one you see in the roasting forums anyway) and find the east level you like.

P100CoffeeEur (original poster)

#3: Post by P100CoffeeEur (original poster) »

Thank you for the reply but honestly i dont even know where to change the roast degree. Are you talking about this?